Ok, time to start making people uncomfortable

The application for the permit is going on five months!  That’s long enough; time to start making some people explain their incompetence.  First, I contacted my architect, who sent the following nasty-gram to our permit expeditor (some woman named Cathie to whom I’ll have to pay $350):

Hi Cathie,

I’m still out of town and will be back in the office on Thursday.  Why don’t we have a permit yet?  We are only looking for Structural re-review.  His comments were all addressed long before I left.  I don’t understand why I’m getting e-mails from the homeowner asking me where the permit is.  What needs to be done to get this resolved?  ASAP!  Who do we need to talk to?  This is unacceptable and needs to be resolved this week.

Jim Martin

If I don’t have a permit by Friday, I’m going to call the Mayor’s office and escalate it from there.

Leave a comment