Fireplace replacement

We hired Jim Martin, AIA, as our architect. He charges a reasonable $80/hour and seems to be a nice guy with lots of experience with old houses. He measured our house yesterday and will draw up the current plan. Emily and I drew up a list for him on all the things our house must have, and those things that would be nice to have. We must have security lights in our parking area; we would like to have the 3rd floor ceiling raised up (but probably won’t because of the big expense).

One thing we can do while waiting for Jim is fix the fireplace. Ours is shot. I can put my hand in the cracks in the firebox. Two vendors came out today: High’s Chimney and Jimney’s Chimneys. The High’s guy was matter-of-fact and told me I needed a new firebox lined with refractory brick (ours is lined with regular, cracked brick). He said we also need the terra cotta flue broken out and relined (the breaking out gives them room to put a properly sized replacement flue in that will draft correctly). Price: $2950.

The Jimney’s guy has been working there 11 years, which impressed me (how many chimney sweeps do you know that have worked at the same company for 11 years? Do you know ANYBODY who has worked at the same company for 11 years?!). Their website makes the company seem pretty raccoon friendly. The lead chimney sweep (I guess that’s his job title) also recommended I replace the cracked flue that handled our boiler’s exhaust. We’ll see–but I do have the CO monitor plugged in just in case. Price for just the main chimney: $5100–ouch.

We can avoid a new firebox and a negatively efficient fireplace (they typically suck up more heat than they put out) by buying a fireplace insert. Vermont Castings has some nice ones. Also check out CJ’s in PA.

The trick is to find some balance between aesthetics and heat production and cost. I’m not sure if I want to bring electrical in to run the blower fans. Maybe we’ll just get a fireback to reflect the heat into the room.

Make sure that your own damper is in tight. We don’t have one at all; our heating dollars would’ve floated right up and away (until I temporarily plugged the hole).

Anymore questions on fireplaces? It’s amazing all the construction info, physics, and other knowledge you pick up renovating a home!

Leave a comment